A Self-Proclaimed Fangirl

Now I am sure that my last post has left you with MANY questions! So in this post I will attempt to answer as many of them as I can.

What is a fandom?

According to a highly academic and reliable source (urbandictionary.com) the definition of “fandom” is as follows:

The community that surrounds a tv show/movie/book etc. Fanfiction writers, artists, poets, and cosplayers are all members of that fandom. Fandoms often consist of message boards, livejournal communities, and people.

Now men and women alike have been obsessed with the romantic, sarcastic and incredibly witty works of Jane Austen since the 1800’s. But only recently with the arrival of the internet have lovers of tv shows and novels been able to connect on a global level. So forget Jane Austen book clubs, and get on Tumblr!

Seriously though. Forget The Jane Austen Book Club. That movie was awful. Sorry, Hugh Dancy. You were adorable.

tumblr_mo3xgbWqKE1qhb9o9o2_250

What makes me such and expert on Jane Austen?

Did I get my degree on her?

Have I read her books hundreds of times and memorized every single one including Lady Susan?

Well no…

22925-26902

But I never claimed to be a Jane Austen expert. Just a fangirl. And a self-proclaimed one at that.

What is a fangirl?

To answer that we shall once again return to urbandictionary.com to find the definition.

A rabid breed of human female who is obesessed with either a fictional character or an actor. Similar to the breed of fanboy. Fangirls congregate at anime conventions and livejournal. Have been known to glomp, grope, and tackle when encountering said obesessions.

I am not a fan (see what I did there!) of this definition. And it’s not just because obsession is misspelled (TWICE!). Also, I am starting to doubt the legitimacy of the urban dictionary.

I find this definition is demeaning and inaccurate. Sure, this type of girl exists. Even in the world of Jane Austen, just look at Lydia and Kitty Bennet.

???????????????????

However, Jane Austen fangirls are different than this “breed.” Yes, we may giggle and squee at the thought of Mr. Darcy, Mr. Tilney or…Mr. Knightley (sigh)

tumblr_mam074vpCC1ql3i4oo1_500

But we wouldn’t “glomp, grope or tackle” them if they were real…at least I wouldn’t…I think…

Anyways, for the purposes of this blog (and my dignity) I would like to use the definition from a much more credible source–Wikihow.

You’ve discovered something that you love and you want to share it with others, be it a film, t.v. show, a sports team or a book! Being a fangirl means having fun and engaging passionately with the source material!

Also from Wikihow is this great guide on becoming a fangirl!

So based on this proper definition, being a fangirl is all about having fun and engaging passionately with the source material. 

And that is what this blog is all about.

Here are my credentials as a Jane Austen Fangirl:

  • I have read all of her major novels. (This was in my early teens however, so I will be rereading them for the purposes of this blog.)
  • I have seen almost every adaptation of her books (and the ones I have not seen I will remedy as I continue posting)
  • I read Becoming Jane Austen, John Spence’s “biography” of Jane Austen that was made into that over-dramatized film that conflated Jane’s actual life with her novels.
  • AND I have read Lady Susan. 

tumblr_lxylmsYf1e1qzmmj3

How did you become this way? 

Well, once upon a time, PBS’s Masterpiece Theater did a marathon of all the BBC adaptations of Jane Austen’s works. I watched them all. And fell in love.

For my 15th brithday, my grandparents gave me a beautiful box set of all of Jane’s books, and I read them all.

austen

Just look how happy I am.

Seven years later and I love them just as much.

Photo on 2014-10-27 at 13.46

The rest is history.

tumblr_n4vtl7X8Xi1rxz691o1_250

2 responses to “A Self-Proclaimed Fangirl

Leave a Reply

