Artifacts from the Fandom

Once again I am going to hold you in anticipation of my true feelings on Mr. Knightley.

Now I know what you’re thinking.

mrs. Bennett

But I have noticed an interesting trend since I have begun this blog, and I wanted to share it with you.

Ever since I have come out as your Jane Austen Fangirl, friends have been posting Jane Austen-esque links on my Facebook Wall and some of them are pretty great.

So today I give you: Artifacts from the Fandom.

Artifact One: The first artifact to appear on my wall came from my friend Heather. And you should totally check out her blog on her experience with Disney’s College program. It’s pretty great.

Matt Smith joins cast of ‘Pride and Prejudice and Zombies’

Image Credit: Dave M. Benett/Getty Images

That’s right. The Fandoms are colliding. Matt Smith AKA Number 11 aka The Doctor is going to be in a Jane Austen adaptation. And not just any Jane Austen Adaptations, it’s Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

This novel was brought to the world by the same wonderful people who brought us Sense And Sensibility and Sea Monsters.

Both of these are worth reading because they are hysterical and awful and beautiful.

So who is the beloved Matt Smith playing? No, it’s not Mr. Darcy.

It’s the insufferable Mr. Collins!

I for one am super excited to see how creepy and obnoxious Matt Smith’s Mr. Collins is. I’m also just excited to see Jane Austen’s world infested by zombies!

Artifact Two: The second artifact came from the husband of one of my dearest friends, and it’s by far the most..peculiar one.

Mr. Bingley and Mr. Bennet Bar Soaps

This is a kickstarter for soaps based on the scents of Mr. Bingley and Mr. Bennett from Pride and Prejudice.

Here is just a brief description from the site:

So what does Mr. Bingley smell like? He has a crisp fresh fragrance with a whisper of festive spirit. This scent has top notes of jasmine, green and orange. Mid notes of ginger, rose, carnation and peach add lovely charm while base notes of patchouli, musk, powder and vanilla keep him grounded. 

When this was first shared with me it had zero backers. It now has eight. And there are still seventeen days left to go.

So if you want to back this Kickstarter, now is your chance.

Artifact Three: This artifact was sent to me by my best friend who shared my love of Jane Austen with me all through highschool.

Watch A Beautiful Woman Perform “How To Tell If You Are In A Jane Austen Novel”

Now if you have no idea what this, or what The Toast is you should look it up. It’s pretty terrific.

Now what this woman is performing is THIS article from the toast. The list contains tell tale signs about how you can know if you are in a Jane Austen novel. Examples include:

  • Everyone in the neighborhood, including your mother, has ranked you and your sisters in order of hotness. You know exactly where you fall on the list.
  • You say something arch yet generous about another woman both younger and richer than you.
  • You have one friend; he is thirty years old and does business with your father and you are going to marry him someday.

So watch the video and read the post. It’s great.

Artifact Four: My fiance is doing a semester abroad in Oxford. He recently took a trip to Bath where he visited the Jane Austen Centre. This is the picture he sent me.

brandon darcy

His caption: When in Bath, dress as Mr. Darcy dresses.

And with that I will leave you for the night.

7 responses to “Artifacts from the Fandom

  1. I love Jane Austen! But then again, “The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.” – Jane Austen Herself

    Like

Leave a Reply

