Lizzie and Darcy Take on the 21st Century

It’s time to take a look at some of the modern remakes of Jane Austen’s classic.

Everyone from the Mormons to Bollywood has made an adaptation of this story. And they’re all pretty great. Just some more interesting than others.

Pride and Prejudice: A Latter Day Comedy (2003)

I saw this version of Pride and Prejudice for the first time in Junior High. And it is definitely one of the more unique versions of the story. Set in Utah,  Lizzie is an aspiring author who lives with a four other girls. They’re pretty much sisters. She meets the British Darcy who turns out to own the company she wants to have publish her book. Though made by a Mormon company, the film is not overtly religious. It stays true to the Austen’s story (well as true as modern adaptations stay) everything is just a bit more brightly colored and the girls are all modestly dressed.

There is also a Mormon version of Sense and Sensibility called Scents and Sensibility. It’s on Netflix and Victoria from HIMYM is in it.

What I Liked:

Collin’s Proposal

Collins proposes by telling Lizzie that told them to multiply and fill the earth. Dream proposal.

Bingley

Bingley is played as kind of dumb, but absolutely adorable. In a puppydog way. He’s super endearing.

What I Disliked:

The Early 2000’s Attire

Pride-and-Prejudice-A-latter-day-comedy

So this has more to do with when the movie was made and I remember when the baby tees and fitted Aeropostale polos, and v-necks and camis were all the rage. I rocked them too. But there’s something just painful about them all in this movie. Maybe it’s how bright all the colors are or maybe it’s just too soon out of style. I just find it all kinda cringe-worthy.

Final Thoughts:

This adaptation thrives on its ridiculousness. Everyone is over the top and exaggerated. The acting is subpar but that is kind of what adds to its charm. If you are in the mood for something that is fun and does not take itself seriously, this is worth watching.

It is also the only version of Pride and Prejudice my fiance has ever seen. Which is probably something I should fix.

Bride and Prejudice (2004)

I watched this movie two nights ago for the purpose of this blog post. I have always wanted to see it but never got around to it. I knew it was Bollywood, but I think for some reason I was expecting a more Americanized Bollywood (and maybe it actually was and I haven’t seen enough Bollywood). But it was just so great and I’ve been singing No Life, Without Wife…Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah Yeah  for days now. Days! Also I had no clue Rory Gilmore was in this!

What I Liked:

It’s A Musical

I LOVE musicals. So much. And it’s probably common knowledge that this is a musical but I had no idea and all of a sudden they were all singing and dancing and they were in India and it was just to perfect.

And at one point Lalita and Darcy are walking on a beach and a gospel choir starts singing to them about love and then all the surfers join in!

Sayid is Bingley

Naveen Andrews AKA Sayid from LOST is Mr. Bingley!

What I Disliked:

At this moment I am unable to think of anything I disliked about this movie. Maybe just the fact that they got rid of Kitty! Poor girl always gets overlooked!

Final Thoughts:

I am now certain that I will not be satisfied at my wedding unless I get to ride down the aisle on an elephant while all my guests dance around me singing Marriage has come to town!

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries (2012-2013)

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries was made by the same team who created Emma Approved. And LBD actually came first. This series was one of the first of its kind and has won several awards. The series focuses on Lizzie, a college grad student who is making these videos with her best friend Charlotte. As Lizzie films we get to go through Austen’s story. We meet several of the characters like Jane and Lydia (Mary becomes a cousin and Kitty becomes and actual cat). And other characters who we don’t meet right away (or at all) we get to know through Lizzie’s impersonations of them. Costumes are involved!

What I Liked:

Lizzie

Lizzie is hilarious, witty and wonderful. I kinda just want to be her.

The Impersonations

Lizzie has set costumes and voices for each of the characters she impersonates. She will often get her sisters or friends to do this Costume Theater with her. Pictured above is her and Jane acting out Darcy and Wickham’s interaction.

What I Disliked:

I Didn’t Care for Darcy

Okay so I didn’t think he was that bad and his character really does grow on you throughout the series. I just really enjoyed all the other characters a lot. So it’s not that I didn’t like him. It’s just in comparison with the other characters  he was just sorta meh…

And I think I actually preferred Lizzie’s impersonation of him, to him.

Final Thoughts:

Just watch it. Like Emma Approved it’s a ton of short episodes so just have them playing while you’re making dinner or during a study break. They’re so funny and it’s fun to see how they modernize the story. For example, Mr. Collin’s proposal is a job offer. So yeah. Watch it. You’ll laugh. A lot.

I also want to give a quick shout out to Bridget Jone’s Diary (2001)

It is not a direct adaptation of the story, but it not so subtly borrows several plot points from the novel.

For example Renee Zellweger’s character falls for a Wickham like character played by Hugh Grant.

She later realizes that she really loves the man who she disliked from the beginning-Mark Darcy played by Colin Firth. So yeah. Really subtle. And pretty wonderful.

The P&P Awards

Best Lizzie:Lizzie Bennet (Diaries)

Best Darcy: Colin Firth from Bridget Jones (Lizzie’s Darcy impersonation from LBD almost won…but it’s Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy…but not that Mr. Darcy)

Best Adaptation: Lizzie Bennet Diaries (Bride and Prejudice was a close second)

Leave a Reply

