Catherine Morland: My Jane Austen Doppleganger

No one who had ever seen Catherine Morland in her infancy would have supposed her born to be an heroine. Her situation in life, the character of her father and mother, her own person and disposition, were all equally against her…

At fifteen, appearances were mending; she began to curl her hair and long for balls; her complexion improved, her features were softened by plumpness and colour, her eyes gained more animation, and her figure more consequence.

northangercover

Catherine Morland is an almost pretty girl who is incredibly naive, loves to read and lets her imagination get the best of her.

For some reason, whenever I take Which Jane Austen Character Are You? quiz and answer honestly (meaning I don’t pick the answers I know will get me Lizzie Bennet) I alway get Catherine.

catmorland  catmorland2

So this leads the question,

What sort of person am I to make me a Catherine Morland?

I have lots of siblings!

Catherine is one of ten!

I love to read!

Catherine loves reading. Specifically thriller novels like The Mysteries of Udolpho.

I don’t always stand up for myself and I struggle with being bold.

Catherine is easily persuaded by those around her. She sits in the shadows while Isabella shines. She struggles to be heard when her group of friends try to peer pressure her into going out when she does not wish it.

I sometimes let my imagination get the better of me.

Catherine accuses Henry’s father of murdering his wife.

I like it when guys occasionally where top hats.

So yeah, we’re pretty much the same person.

Leave a Reply

